Compliance

Compliant thanks to ISO 20022

In January 2016 the Anti-Money Laundering Act (AMLA) revised by the Swiss parliament entered into force along with the completely revised Anti-Money Laundering Ordinance issued by the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority FINMA (AMLO-FINMA). This amended legislation is the result of changes in the international standards based on the recommendations of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF), and is designed to combat money laundering and the financing of terrorism. The changeover to ISO 20022 enables full, automated compliance with the new AMLO-FINMA rules. The payment process now involves forwarding the name, account number, and address of the initiating party in addition to details of the beneficiary. This enables the beneficiary’s bank to assess the risks as required by AMLO-FINMA.

QR-bill creates end-to-end data transparency

If a payment is made using the present orange slip, at the time of the credit the beneficiary’s bank is only aware of the reference number. Alongside the reference number, the QR code can now also provide all the data necessary for compliance with the regulatory requirements throughout the entire payment process. The contents of the QR code are transparent and can be read by the recipient of the bill with any free smartphone app. Billers generate the QR code themselves on the basis of guidelines provided by the financial institutions. The code contains all the information necessary for the payment. More

Internationally compatible

The changeover to ISO 20022 and the introduction of the QR-bill will enable the Swiss regulator’s new requirements to be met on an automated and efficient basis, as well as taking account of the FATF recommendations. In its fourth mutual evaluation report on Switzerland, the FATF acknowledges this development and praises the country for what are above-average results by comparison with the nations already evaluated. ISO 20022 will make it easier to meet new national and international requirements and respond rapidly and effectively to new risks in the future. More

Compliance

Konform dank ISO 20022

Im Januar 2016 trat das durch das Schweizer Parlament revidierte Geldwäschereigesetz (GwG) in Kraft. Gleichzeitig wurde die revidierte Geldwäschereiverordnung der Eidgenössischen Finanzmarktaufsicht FINMA (GwV-FINMA) rechtswirksam. Die Revisionen sind eine Folge der angepassten internationalen Standards, basieren auf den Empfehlungen der Financial Action Task Force (FATF) und dienen der Bekämpfung der Geldwäscherei und Terrorismusfinanzierung. Dank der Umstellung auf ISO 20022 können die neuen Vorschriften der GwV-FINMA vollumfänglich automatisiert eingehalten werden. Dazu werden im Zahlungsprozess neu neben den Angaben zur begünstigten Person auch der Name, die Kontonummer und die Adresse des Auftraggebers an die Bank des Begünstigten weitergeleitet. Die Bank des Begünstigten kann somit die Risikoabwägung im Rahmen der GwV-FINMA vornehmen.

QR-Code schafft durchgehend Datentransparenz

Beim heutigen orangen Einzahlungsschein kennt die Bank des Begünstigten zum Zeitpunkt der Gutschrift nur die Referenznummer. Der QR-Code kann neu neben der Referenznummer auch alle für die Einhaltung der regulatorischen Anforderungen notwendigen Daten über den gesamten Zahlungsprozess hinweg mitliefern. Der Inhalt des QR-Codes ist transparent und kann vom Rechnungsempfänger mit jeder kostenlos erhältlichen Smartphone-App gelesen werden. Der Rechnungssteller generiert den QR-Code selber auf Basis der Vorgaben von Finanzinstituten. Er beinhaltet alle für die Zahlung notwendigen Informationen. Mehr

International kompatibel

Mit der Umstellung auf ISO 20022 und der Einführung der QR-Rechnung werden die neuen Anforderungen des Schweizer Regulators automatisiert und dadurch effizient erfüllt sowie den Empfehlungen der FATF Rechnung getragen. Die FATF würdigt im vierten Länderbericht zur Schweiz diese Entwicklung und das im Vergleich mit den bereits untersuchten Staaten überdurchschnittliche Ergebnis. Auf der Basis von ISO 20022 wird es in Zukunft einfacher sein, neuen nationalen und internationalen Auflagen gerecht zu werden und auf neue Risiken effektiv und schnell zu reagieren. Mehr